European Union (Withdrawal) Bill published

Released 13 July 2017

The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill, which repeals the European Communities Act 1972 and makes other provision in connection with the withdrawal of the UK from the EU, was introduced to the House of Commons and given its first reading on Thursday 13 July 2017.

The European Union (Withdrawal) Bill repeals the European Communities Act 1972 on the day the UK leaves the EU. The Bill ends the supremacy of EU law in UK law and converts EU law as it stands at the moment of exit into domestic law. It also creates temporary powers to make secondary legislation to enable corrections to be made to the laws that would otherwise no longer operate appropriately once the UK has left, so that the domestic legal system continues to function correctly outside the EU. The Bill also enables domestic law to reflect the content of a withdrawal agreement under Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union once the UK leaves the EU.

This first reading is a formal stage and takes place without any debate. Members of Parliament (MPs) will next consider the Bill at Second Reading, the date for which has not yet been announced.

View the Bill and explanatory notes here.

Average: 4 (1 vote)